Trying Something New in MEMS & Microsystems Education

I’ve been working on improving my online presence with an eye on providing educational materials for students, teachers and MEMS industry “newbies.”   One of the many things I’ve been up to is putting our grant’s educational materials online, in a distance learning framework.

We are using a learning content management system called “Moodle” – which, I’m sure many of you have experience with.  I’m now using it with my college students at both the secondary and post-secondary level.

Most recently, we have started leveraging this system for our educator community of practice – creating short online courses for our professional development workshops and high level educational users.  It is a challenge to manage all this – but I’m really enjoying it!

We have all of our educational materials on line at the SCME website.  These include powerpoints, reading materials, links to our YouTube channel, Hands-on Kit store etc.   But it is left up to the users to find materials and organize them for use in their classroom.

To improve upon this concept, I’ve decided to put these materials and links into a learning content management system that not only I can use when teaching my classes, but that I can share, in an open-source environment, with my partners.  So… I’m now able to provide these resource in the Moodle format so that life-long learners can access short courses in different MEMS topics to educate themselves.  These sets of materials are written for the undergraduate, Freshman and Sophomore, tech interested level.  They are used in dual-credit high school Introduction to MEMS classes, as well as more advance MEMS Fabrication classes for technicians.  These are not intended for the higher level engineering student unless they are totally unfamiliar with MEMS, Microsystems and Semiconductor manufacturing.

Here is a snapshot of one of the recent units I put together for my MEMS2102 – Manufacturing course – on overview and introduction to LIGA:

Screen shot of from my LIGA unit.  LIGA is one of many technologies used in MEMS to fabricate HARMST devices - High Aspect Ratio MEMS Technologies.

Screen shot of from my LIGA unit. LIGA is one of many technologies used in MEMS to fabricate HARMST devices – High Aspect Ratio MEMS Technologies.

Leave a Reply

